Carol L. Folt

Chancellor, UNC-Chapel Hill

Carol Folt is the 11th chancellor of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and an internationally recognized environmental scientist. An Akron, Ohio, native, Folt is a proud product of public higher education. Her parents were the first in their families to attend college. She worked her way through the University of California at Santa Barbara as a waitress, earning a bachelor’s degree in aquatic biology in 1976. She received a master’s degree in biology from UC Santa Barbara two years later and her doctorate in ecology in 1982 from the University of California at Davis. Her research has focused on the effects of dietary mercury and arsenic on humans and ecosystem health, salmonid fisheries management restoration and global climate change. Her postdoctoral studies were at the W.K. Kellogg Biological Station of Michigan State University. Folt joined the faculty of Dartmouth College in 1983, rising steadily through the academic and senior administrative ranks before serving as interim president.

Vincent E. Price

President, Duke University

Vincent E. Price is the 10th President of Duke University, where he is also Walter Hines Page Professor of Public Policy and Political Science in the Sanford School of Public Policy and Trinity College of Arts and Sciences. Prior to coming to Duke, Price served as Provost of the University of Pennsylvania and was the Steven H. Chaffee Professor in the Annenberg School for Communication and Professor of Political Science in the School of Arts and Sciences. As Provost and chief academic officer, he advanced initiatives to diversify the faculty and expand interdisciplinary research; guided the development of new forms of teaching and learning, both in the classroom and in the digital world; expanded the University’s global presence, including the launch of the Penn Wharton Center in Beijing; and enhanced arts and culture on campus, shepherding the creation of the Sachs Program for Arts Innovation.

Julian H. Robertson

Founder, Robertson Scholars Leadership Program

Julian H. Robertson, Jr. is the Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Tiger Management L.L.C., which he co-founded in May 1980. From initial capital of eight million dollars, Tiger eventually became the world’s largest hedge fund with assets of over $21 billion. Mr. Robertson graduated from Episcopal High School in 1951 and UNC-Chapel Hill in 1955. He served as an officer in the U.S. Navy, then joined Kidder Peabody in 1957 where he became a Director. In 1974, he became Chairman of the Board and CEO of Webster Management Corporation and served in that capacity until his departure in 1978. Mr. Robertson is currently on the Board of Trustees of the Rockefeller University; member of the Board of Trustees of Environmental Defense; Vice Chairman and former President of the Board of Trustees of the Cancer Research Institute; member of the Board of Trustees of the Wildlife Conservation Society; member of the Board of Trustees of the Cathedral Church of St. John the Divine; member of the Executive Committee of Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts; and a member of the National Board of Advisors of the Children’s Scholarship Fund.

Aaron Stern

Senior Advisor, Tiger Management

Dr. Aaron Stern joined Tiger Management in 1993, where he served as a member of the Management Committee, Board of Directors, Chief Operating Officer, and now Senior Advisor. He accomplished his psychiatric training at Yale University and his training in Psychoanalytic Medicine at Columbia University where he attained professorial rank and was appointed a Training Analyst. He received a Ph.D. from Columbia University where he focused his work upon the methodology of science and empirical studies of child development. Dr. Stern was elected to the Center for Advanced Analytic Studies at Princeton and served as the Educational Consultant to the United States Committee for the United Nations. In addition to teaching psychoanalytic medicine at Columbia University, he was selected to teach Contemporary Civilization as a part of the core undergraduate curriculum at Columbia. He helped to develop the Code and Rating System of the Motion Picture Association of America and served as its Director. During his academic career, Dr. Stern was on the faculties of Yale University, Columbia University, New York University, University of California Los Angeles and Washington State University. He has written numerous scientific and educational papers and is the author of the book The Narcissistic American.


Universities Coordinating Committee

The Universities Coordinating Committee is comprised of administrators from Duke and UNC-Chapel Hill who bring their knowledge of these schools to benefit the improvement and evolution of the Robertson Scholars Leadership Program.

Winston Crisp

Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs, UNC-Chapel Hill

Stephen Farmer

Vice Provost for Enrollment and Undergraduate Admissions, UNC- Chapel Hill

Christoph Guttentag

Dean of Undergraduate Admissions, Duke University

Steve Nowicki

Dean and Vice Provost of Undergraduate Education, Trinity College, Duke University

Abigail Panter

Senior Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education, College of Arts and Sciences, UNC-Chapel Hill

Arlie Petters

Dean of Academic Affairs and Associate Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education, Trinity College, Duke University