News: May 9, 2018

Welcome to the Class of 2022!

Class of 2022 Announced

Thirty-one high school graduates have accepted invitations to become Robertson Scholars, receiving merit scholarships to attend either the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill or Duke University.

The Robertson Scholars Leadership Program’s financial benefits include full tuition, room and board, and mandatory fees for four years of undergraduate study, in addition to three summers of domestic and international experiences.

The Robertson Scholars Leadership Program invests in young leaders who strive to make transformational contributions to society. Scholars are selected based on students’ demonstration of outstanding academic achievement, intellectual curiosity, moral character, purposeful leadership and collaborative spirit.

Robertson Scholars matriculate to one university while receiving student privileges at both Duke and UNC-Chapel Hill, including opportunities to pursue second majors and minors, enroll in courses, and participate in student activities. During the academic year, the Robertson Program provides customized offerings designed to encourage scholars to realize their full leadership potential.

The Robertson Program was created in 2000 through a $24 million gift from Julian Robertson, a 1955 graduate of UNC, and his wife, Josie. Inspired by their sons — one of whom graduated from Duke in 1998, and another from UNC in 2001 — the Robertsons believed that each institution offered a distinctive undergraduate experience, but that the combination of the two promised a breadth and depth of resources that no other university could match.

The Robertson alumni network consists of approximately 390 leaders on six continents, linked together by a common goal to make positive and palpable contributions to their communities.

Congratulations to the Robertson Scholars Leadership Program Class of 2022:

Scholars at Duke University
  Jia Dua, Lynfield College
  Olivia Olsher, St. Paul’s Girls’ School
  Elise van den Hoek, Sevenoaks School
  Lilian Clark, University High School
  Joel Kim, North Hollywood High School
  Kamryn Washington, American Heritage School
New Jersey
  Anjali Gupta, Middlesex County Academy for Science, Mathematics and Engineering Technologies
North Carolina
  Bennett David, Christ School
  Jacob Key, Ashe County High School
  Amanda Padden, United World College
  Weston Lindner, Lakota East High School
  Naira Ikram, Westlake High School
  Charlie Zong, Westchester Academy for International Studies
Washington, DC
  Montana Lee, School Without Walls
Scholars at University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  Fridah Mbwaya, African Leadership Academy
  Jemma Frost, Ravenswood School for Girls
  Cher Hu, Indian Springs School
  Tamira Daniely, Desert Vista High
  Anshu Mohan, Smokey Hill High School
  Rachel Maunus, Martin County High School
New Mexico 
  Benjamin Rees, Los Alamos High School
New York      
  Kalley Huang, Hunter College High School
  Matt Sullivan, Canisius High School
North Carolina
  Ivy Drew, Virginia Episcopal School
  Theo Holt, Carolina Friends School
  Aaron Williams, Franklin County Early College High School
  Sam Zahn, Parkland High School
  Sophia Ramirez, Menchville High School
  Niharika Vattikonda, Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology
West Virginia 
  Brady Hanshaw, Sissonville High School
  Ruth Fetaw, Rufus King High School

For more information about the Robertson Scholars Leadership Program, visit or email


<< Back to News